Select Page

Bill of Rights



GOVERNMENT Bill of Rights

Proposed in 1789 and enacted on December 15, 1791
The Bill of Rights is also known as the first 10 amendments to the Constitution of the United States. Many of these amendments seek to protect the rights of citizens by focusing on personal freedoms and the power of government.






The amendments included in the Bill of Rights are:

1st Amendment:
Protects the people’s right to practice religion, to speak freely, to assemble (meet), to address the government and of the press to publish.

2nd Amendment:
Protects the right to own guns.

3rd Amendment:
Guarantees that the army cannot force homeowners to give them room and board.

4th Amendment:
Protects the people from the government improperly taking property, papers, or people, without a valid warrant based on probable cause (good reason).

5th Amendment:
Protects people from being held for committing a crime unless they are properly indicted, that they may not be tried twice for the same crime, and that you need not be forced to testify against yourself. It also contains due process guarantees.

6th Amendment:
Guarantees a speedy trial, an impartial jury, and that the accused can confront witnesses against them, and that the accused must be allowed to have a lawyer.

7th Amendment:
Guarantees a jury trial in federal civil court cases. This type of case is normally no longer heard in federal court.

8th Amendment:
Guarantees that punishments will be fair, and not cruel, and that extraordinarily large fines will not be set.

9th Amendment:
Simply a statement that other rights aside from those listed may exist, and just because they are not listed doesn’t mean they can be violated.

10th Amendment:
Says that any power not granted to the federal government belongs to the states.